NEW πŸ“—Story: Radio ❌

Republic of Demon

Demon is part of the Commonwealth Volcanic
Demon Republic
Constituent Republic of Vekllei
Capital Aran
Population 13,947
Languages English, Latin, Irish
Area 377 km2
Vekllei Accession 1840, gifted to the British Atlantic Territories

The Republic of Demon is an island republic in the North Atlantic, and part of the country of Vekllei. It was discovered by Irish settlers in the 13th Century, where they settled at the base of the Birianvik, or Mt Birian Volcano. Its capital, Aran, exists on this site and is home to about 14,000 people today.

Desolate, windy and cold, Demon is isolated by 500km of water from Kala, its closest neighbour. Its economy is dominated by fishing, community agriculture, the Military and tourism. Demon has few trees but a little tundra, and is home to arctic foxes, seabirds and all manner of North Atlantic sea life.

After Irish settlers established Aran in the 13th Century, a monastery was built by monks on the slope of Birianvik, making it the oldest in Vekllei. It continues to operate today on the site of the original monastery, which was destroyed by an eruption in the 18th Century. The town of Aran was abandoned twice in the 15th and 18th centuries, but the monastery has operated continuously since its founding. This heritage, collections of relics and strong religiosity among its citizens are part of the culture of Demon, and contribute to its flag which features a Black Madonna.

Demon can be accessed by hydrofoil or ship at Port Aran in its capital and only major settlement, and there is a combined civilian and military aerodrome on the southern region with a couple regional flights each day. A single tramline connects Aran with the farms and villages in the south.