NEW πŸ“—Story: The Fountain ❌

Helena Republic

ί· Helena is part of Commonwealth Antarctica
Helena Republic
Constituent Republic of Vekllei
Part of Commonwealth Antarctica
Capital Plover
Population 19,844
Languages English
Area 121.8 km2
Vekllei Accession 1836, as part of the British Atlantic Territories

The Helena Republic is a constituent republic in the Atlantic Ocean, and part of the commonwealth of Antarctica. Of volcanic origin but with volcanic activity now extinct, Helena is home to around 20,000 people, most of whom live in the capital Plover. Its closest neighbour is the Vekllei republic of Ascension.

Helena is dominated by steep, conspicuous terrain with dramatic volcanic features. It has a pleasant, temperate climate cooled by the South Atlantic trade winds, that range 15-30Β°C across seasons. Its flora has evolved for millions of years in isolation, and has extraordinary biodiversity across its unique species. Human settlement is concentrated in the highlands and in narrow valleys on its coast.

Helenians are descended mostly from British, South Asians and Africans most of whom were brought over as slaves and servants in the early colonial history of the island. The practice of slavery continued until the late 18th Century when it was outlawed across the British Empire.

Helena was among the islands transferred to the British Atlantic Territories, which would eventually become the first Commonwealth of Oceans. It inherited membership in Vekllei upon independence.

The Helena economy is dominated by municipal goods (green vegetables, land stewardship, crafts) as well as the Port of Helena in Plover that is an important supply station between other Vekllei Antarctic territories. Helena is also home to the South Atlantic Radar Array. It has a single airport on the east of the island, and is serviced by small tramlines and funiculars.