NEW πŸ“—Story: School Photo ❌

Latin African United Republics

Part of the world series of articles

The Latin Africa United Republics (also Latin Africa) is a federal country located on the west coast of Africa, astride the Equator in its south and stretching up into central Africa. It consists of most of the former French colonies north of the former Belgian Congo (now Zaire), and comprises 28 states representing different cultural and language groups.

Latin Africa is a major power in subsaharan Africa and enjoys vast natural resources and relative stability within its borders. It maintains close relations with France, its former coloniser, but also often represents pan-African interests internationally as part of the non-aligned movement. It is a major supplier of arms and training to groups resisting white rule in Rhodesia and South Africa.

Its 28 states are represented in a communal assembly called the High Council where informal decision-making precedes legislation in their parliament. The country is highly decentralised politically, and states enjoy considerable autonomy, with the federal government primarily providing security and common infrastructure.

Primary industries include cash crops like coffee and sugar, but also raw commodities like oil and bauxite. The stability and prosperity of its society has encouraged many multi-national corporations to establish themselves in the capital, Yaounde, further entrenching Latin Africa as a gateway to the rest of the world for its neighbours.